Teddy’s Bar & Grill at the corner of Berry and N 8th Streets, since 1887, is the oldest bar in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. Teddy’s is a lively and colorful establishment where old and new Brooklyn meet for great food, delicious drinks, an atmosphere that is refreshingly devoid of attitude, and a staff that is warm and welcoming to the whole Williamsburg community. Teddy’s is one of the few remaining Victorian era taverns in New York City and has long been a hub of social, artistic, and political activity in North Brooklyn.
Teddy’s originally opened as a franchised tavern for the Peter Doelger Brewery. The beautiful stained glass frontage of 96 Berry Street still carries the signage for Peter Doelger’s Extra Beer. Doelger’s brewery didn’t reopen after prohibition and out of 11 franchised taverns, Teddy’s, is the only one remaining. Teddy Prusik is the namesake of Teddy’s Bar & Grill; currently the owners are Richard DeVore, Scott Davis, and Katherine Buenaflor.
Williamsburg has seen many changes over the last two decades as it has grown into one of the most vibrant and desirable neighborhoods in New York City. Teddy’s has managed to be at both the center of the history and the changes on the Northside of Williamsburg.
Teddy’s Bar & Grill – serving Brooklyn since 1887.http://www.teddys.nyc